DIVERGENT Trilogy To Become Four Movies Instead of Three

By Amy Ratcliffe

Want more Divergent? Good, because you’re going to get it. Following the trends of movies such as The Hunger Games: Mockingjay and Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows, the final film in the Divergent franchise will be split into two parts. The films, based on Veronica Roth’s young adult book series, start Shailene Woodley as a protagonist in a dystopian world where all citizens get sorted into factions that drive their existence.

The first film in the series, Divergent, was released in March. Insurgent, the sequel, comes to theaters in 2015. What was going to be the final film, Allegiant, was already set for a March 2016 release, but now it will just be Allegiant Part 1. The second part of that film will follow in 2017.

Given the potential for box office earnings, it’s not surprising the Lionsgate/Summit made the call to split the final book. They’ve made the decision before (with The Hunger Games and Twilight), and it’s bound to make them extra money. And, they get to tell a bigger story. From a fan perspective, I’m optimistic about seeing what they’ll do.

Where do you think they’ll split Allegiant? Let us know your opinions in the comments.

HT: Deadline

…read more

Source: Nerdist


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.